NJ Lottery Print
Reviews - Aircraft Instruments
Written by Mongoose Bikes   
Saturday, 25 July 2009 00:00

The New Jersey Lottery is run by the government of New Jersey. Its games consist ofPowerball, Mega Millions, Pick 3, Pick 4, Jersey Cash 5, Pick-6, and scratch tickets. The Lottery is headquartered in the One Lawrence Park Complex in Lawrence Township, Mercer County.[1][2]

Former games included Lotzee and Lucky 7, both offering a higher prize potential than in Pick-3 and Pick-4. (The Pick-6 game, until 2000, also drew a five-digit Bonus Million number.)

An agreement between Mega Millions and the Powerball group was reached on October 13, 2009. Powerball tickets become available through the New Jersey Lottery on January 31, 2010; Mega Millions, initially known as The Big Game, had been available in New Jersey since 1999.

New Jersey Lottery players must be at least 18 years old. The New Jersey Network (NJN) airs live televised drawings twice a day, seven days a week; midday at 12:57 PM ET and nightly at 7:56 PM ET. NJN also airs the twice- weekly Mega Millions drawings at 10:59 PM every Tuesday and Friday night, as well as the Wednesday and Saturday Powerball drawings at the same time.

You can visit the New Jersey Lottery at www.njlottery.net

Pick 3

Pick 3 (originally known as Pick-it; the name changed to Pick-3 when Pick-4 began) is a New Jersey Lottery game played twice daily (see above for drawing times.) Prices, prizes, and options vary.

Pick 4

Pick 4 is a New Jersey Lottery game also played twice daily.

Jersey Cash 5

Jersey Cash 5 is a daily game. It draws five balls from 1 to 40. Games cost $1 each. The top prize is a jackpot that grows until there is a 5-of-5 winner.

Pick 6

Pick 6 is drawn on Monday and Thursday evenings. It draws six balls from 1 to 49. Games also cost $1 each. The jackpot begins at $2 million (annuitized with a cash option) and increases by at least $200,000 per rollover until there is a 6-of-6 winner.

Mega Millions (multi-lottery game)

On September 6, 1996, six lotteries began a multi-jurisdictional game, then known as The Big Game. In 1999, the New Jersey Lottery became its first additional member. The current name, Mega Millions, was adopted in 2002; a short time later, the name The Big Game was retired. The jackpots begin at $12 million. On January 31, 2010, many MUSL members (until then offering only Powerball) joined Mega Millions.

Powerball (multi-lottery game)

Powerball is a multi-lottery game that grew from 33 to 43 members on January 31, 2010. Powerball began in 1992. On October 13, 2009 the Mega Millions consortium and Multi-State Lottery Association (MUSL) reached an agreement in principle to cross-sell Mega Millions and Powerball in U.S. lottery jurisdictions. On January 7, 2010, the New Jersey Lottery announced that Powerball would make its debut in New Jersey on January 31, 2010.

On March 13, 2010, New Jersey became the first previously Mega Millions-only jurisdiction to produce a jackpot ticket for Powerball after the January 31, 2010 cross-sell expansion. The annuity value of the prize is over $211 million; it was sold in Morris Plains. (None of the 33 Powerball members just before January 31, 2010, have sold a Mega Millions jackpot ticket since then.)

Players' jackpot choice

Unusually, for Pick-6, as well as Mega Millions and Powerball within New Jersey, players must choose cash or annuity when playing (instead of after winning.) The cash option, if chosen, is binding; however, an annuity ticket that wins a jackpot in any of the three games can be changed to cash. (There is no annuity option in Jersey Cash 5, as its jackpot shares are paid in lump sum.) This is in contrast to Texas, where Powerball, Mega Millions, and Lotto Texas players must choose when playing; the selection(s) in all three games are binding.

Last Updated on Friday, 20 August 2010 05:20